Where will Twitter take you? It took me to Slide2Learn!

My 9 Steps to becoming a workshop facilitator at the Slide2Learn Conference in Perth.
June 2012 – April 2013.

Previously, I had written about taking a leap of faith and doing something that scared me. I submitted a proposal to facilitate a workshop at the Slide 2Learn Conference. I was accepted and this blog outlines how it happened.

20130424-131047.jpg
1. Join Twitter through recommendation of Louise Cimetta @LouCimetta – Coordinator of Digital Learning, Catholic Education Office, Perth

2. Have a positive social experience at Catholic Primary Curriculum Conference with fellow tweeps.

3. Receive feedback from a tweet that results in attending a brilliant social media workshop run by MYSA and featuring amazing educators, Prof. Alec Couros @corousa and George Couros @gcouros
a. Start my own blog – Reflection is good for the soul
b. Own digital footprint – About.me/KerryMuste
c. Find out about Hootsuite to organise my hashtags and Flipboard for magazine like reading.
d. Make further connections, plus meet people that already knew on Twitter. Made the day very relaxed.

4. Make further positive social experiences through tweet up lunch thanks to EduBlogger Extraordinaire Sue Waters @suewaters and meet Couros Brothers, and three lovely Librarians;The Daring Librarian @gwynethjones, Dr. Joyce Valenza @joycevalenza and Audrey Nay @audrey_nay. I also met Phil and Jo Hart, Ms D and Sue Hickton. Great day!

5. Join great Global Classroom project run by Karen Stadler @ICT_Integrator called Crazy Crazes.
a. Learn new ways to share information – flipsnack, voicethread and Skype

6. Create Year 7 class blog to display students Digital Photography Competition and invite Twitter friends to view – they comment and provide audience.

7. Find resources and links to amazing ideas and people
a. Read and follow blogs – favourite George Couros
b. Joined another Global Classroom Project run by Karen called Save Our Rhinos
i. Create YouTube channel to display work

8. Be invited to submit workshop idea to National Slide2Learn Conference being held in Perth. Thanks Slide2Learn team!

9. Facilitate a workshop on Developing a PLN using Twitter at the Conference and meet fellow Tweeps like: Michael Graffin @mgraffin, Global Classrooms Project Co-founder; Amie Meyer @AmieMeyer4; Sam Boswell @sboswellhyde. I was also able to make new wonderful connections from around Australia. It was also amazing to meet and attend workshops run by Tony Vincent @tonyvincent. His keynote address was lots of fun and the Web Keynote by Lisa Johnson @Techchef4u introduced me to another fabulous educator.

What an amazing journey and I owe it all to the power of Twitter. I hope that it will continue to provide me with inspiration, enthusiasm, new ideas and life changing experiences.

Has Twitter made a difference to you?

6 thoughts on “Where will Twitter take you? It took me to Slide2Learn!

  1. Love the Tassie profile picture! Thanks for your time at S2L. Without enthusiastic (and daring!) volunteers like yourself, our event would not have been the success that it was!

    • Love Hobart! 🙂 next S2L possibly? I had such a good time and look forward to next year.
      Thanks for the opportunity and congratulations on a great conference. I am still digesting all the information!
      Thanks for taking the time to comment.

  2. Hmmmm – you ask “Has twitter made a difference to you?”

    My answer would have to be “absolutely!” Twitter brought me in contact with so many inspiring and incredible people who contribute tremendously to my professional development. Twitter brought me into contact with the other members of the Slide2Learn team. Without twitter we would find it so much harder to connect to amazing people like you who inspire others.

    Thank you for stepping up to present and Slide2Learn. 😃

    • Thanks Kate. I really enjoyed the experience. 🙂 All of the team made me feel relaxed and welcome. I look forward to attending another Slide2Learn Conference, hopefully next year. 🙂 Congratulations on a great event this year and I hope you all get to have a well earned rest now.

  3. Pingback: 3 Things I Learned This Year. | DemystifICT

  4. Pingback: Believe you are making a difference. | DemystifICT

Leave a Reply

